What Information Should Be Exchanged After a Car Accident?
Car accidents can be confusing and scary for many people. While it is perfectly understandable to feel overwhelmed, you must try to remain calm and remember to exchange information with the other driver involved in the crash. Otherwise, you may find it difficult to recover compensation for your injuries or vehicle damage. You also risk facing fines and criminal charges. Under the law, you must exchange the following information after a car accident in New Jersey:
- Driver’s License Details: By obtaining the other driver’s license details, you will know their name, address, and license number. You should also consider getting their contact number so you can easily reach them later, if necessary.
- Vehicle Registration Certificate: Exchanging vehicle registration information with the other driver can confirm their identity and insurance details.
- Insurance Information: While New Jersey follows the no-fault auto insurance system, meaning that injured victims must file a PIP claim with their insurer instead of the at-fault driver’s insurance coverage, you must still exchange insurance details with the other driver.
If your medical bills resulting from the crash exceed your PIP coverage limits and you suffered significant injuries, you may be allowed to circumvent the state’s no-fault insurance system and file a claim against the other driver’s liability insurance coverage. Also, take note that PIP does not cover vehicle damage, so you may need to file a claim with the other driver’s insurer for compensation to cover the costs of repairing or replacing your vehicle.
What If I Cannot Exchange Information With The Other Driver in The Car Accident?
If you can’t exchange the necessary information with the other driver involved in the crash, our New Jersey car accident lawyers can help locate the other driver. The other driver might flee the accident scene right away to avoid the consequences. Sometimes, drivers might try to convince the other driver that they don’t have to exchange information, and settling the accident without involving insurance companies and lawyers would be easier for everyone. While this may sound appealing, you should always exchange information whenever possible.
If the other driver flees the scene before the police arrive or after refusing to give their details, call your lawyer. They will investigate the scene, interview witnesses, and look at security camera footage, among other things, to find out the other driver’s identity.
If you crash into a parked vehicle, park your car in a safe spot and see if you can find the owner. If you find them, exchange information with them. If you can’t find the owner, you are required by law to leave a written notice of the accident in a spot where the owner will easily find it. Include your name, contact details, insurance information, and a statement about what happened. If the crash resulted in damages worth $500 or higher, you should also notify the police right away and file a report of the crash within 10 days of the incident.
Seek Legal Advice From a New Jersey Car Accident Lawyer Now
Need legal assistance following a car crash in New Jersey? Contact Leonard Legal Group and schedule your free case review with our New Jersey car accident lawyer by calling 973-984-1414 or reaching us online. Scott Leonard is a board certified civil trial attorney and has successfully h